About Us
WT has a proud history of generating leaders in the arts. This past January, WT students performed “It Couldn’t Happen Here” by alum Carrie Mannino ’16. This documentary play explores the Pittsburgh and Jewish communities in the aftermath of the antisemitic massacre at the Tree of Life building on October 27, 2018. Mannino was awarded the Yale Playwriting Award for the play while earning an undergraduate degree at Yale University.

Thistletalk is published by Winchester Thurston School for alumnae/i, parents, students, and friends of the school. Letters and suggestions are welcome.

Editorial Team
Nancy-Rose Netchi, Editor
Alaina Ferry ’10, Assistant Editor
Jane Schilling, Class Notes Editor

Kathleen Bishop
Michelle Wion Chitty
Jason Cohn
Monica Manes Gay
Amiena Mahsoob
Alex Neal
Shay Park
Shanda Snyder
Michelle Zaffary

Winchester Thurston School
555 Morewood Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Telephone: (412) 578-7500


Winchester Thurston School actively engages each student in a challenging and inspiring learning process that develops the mind, motivates the passion to achieve, and cultivates the character to serve.

Equity and Inclusion Statement
As a means to fulfill our credo, “Think also of the comfort and the rights of others,” Winchester Thurston will be an inclusive community and will pursue the social and pedagogical benefits that diversity brings. We will place the highest value on enabling students to understand their own cultural identity and those of others. It is our moral imperative to be courageous and intentional in promoting understanding, addressing bias, identifying and honoring qualities of justice, respecting multiple perspectives and contributions, and valuing the dignity of all.

Thistletalk content represents opinions, ideas, and perspectives of the authors that are not necessarily those of the Trustees or Administration of Winchester Thurston School. The editors reserve the right to accept, reject, or edit any content submitted for publication in Thistletalk.

Winchester Thurston School is a member of the National Association of Independent Schools and is accredited by the Pennsylvania Association of Independent Schools.

Winchester Thurston School does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin, gender, sexual orientation, age, religion, or disability in the administration of its educational policies, admission policies, financial aid programs, and athletics or other school-administered programs.

Winchester Thurston School


Paul Rosenblatt

Kristen A. Burns
Vice President

Susan Hunter ’72
Vice President

Abigail Robinson Foster ’03
Vice President

Jessica Bemer

Henry S. Beukema

Scott D. Fech
Head of School

Kerry Bron ’84
Manny Cahouet-Rotondi
Rosalind Chow
Phyllis Coontz
Brandilyn Y. Dumas ’99
Rosanne Isay Harrison ’56, Emeritus
Brea M. Heidelberg ’02
Elizabeth S. Hurtt ’74, Emeritus
James Isler
David Kamin
Kristi Kerins A’67
Natasha Lawrence
Marsha Lovett
Carole Oswald Markus ’57, Emeritus
Jennifer Gonzalez McComb ’89
Jennifer Staley McCrady ’91
Savita Mullapudi Narasimhan

Brandon Nicholson
Illah Nourbakhsh
Edward Perrin
Henry Posner III, Emeritus
Andrew Santelli ’00
Tiffany Sizemore ’95
Andrew N. Stewart
Jane Arensberg Thompson ’57, Emeritus
Joy Titus-Young ’92
Jian-Gang (Jimmy) Zhu