Miss Mitchell Society
Miss Mitchell Society
Expand the Vision of our Founder
Miss Mitchell

Dr. Mary A. Graham Mitchell was a visionary leader.

  • She broke boundaries by creating a school dedicated to educating women and preparing them for the rigors of a university setting.
  • She reimagined learning by encouraging her students to progress in their education at a time when most women were encouraged to complete their schooling with a high school diploma.
  • And, she created a community of learners and scholars who continue to “Think also of the comfort and the rights of others” to this very day.

In Miss Mitchell’s honor, the Miss Mitchell Society recognizes those in our community who have chosen to expand the vision of our founder through a bequest or planned gift. Including Winchester Thurston School in your will or trust, or adding WT as a beneficiary of an insurance policy, IRA, or 401(k), is a smart way to provide future tax savings while making a lasting impact on the life of our school and students. Every planned giving donor becomes a member of the Miss Mitchell Society–membership requires no particular gift or bequest amount.

Please consider joining the community of supporters in the Miss Mitchell Society. Your gift will help us continue to break boundaries, reimagine learning, support community, and rethink time and space–all in the spirit of our founder. For more information, or to let us know of your intentions, please contact Alex Neal, Director of Leadership Philanthropy, at neala@winchesterthurston.org or 412-224-4644.

Miss Mitchell Society Members

Following are the current living members of our community who have remembered WT in their estate planning.

  • Betsy Aiken ’72
    Suzanne LeClere Barley ’52
    Loretta Lobes Benec ’88
    Barbara Abney Bolger ’52
    Kathleen W. Buechel
    Joan Clark Davis ’65
    Judith Rohrer Davis ’57
    Judith Ellenbogen ’58
    Justine Diebold Englert ’59
    Anna-Stina Ericson ’44
    Robert I. Glimcher
    Barbara Graves-Poller ’93
    Rosanne Isay Harrison ’56
    Kristi A. Kerins A’67
    Kathryn W. Kruse ’58
    Elsa Limbach
    Louise Baldridge Lytle ’51
    Carole Oswald Markus ’57
    Gretchen Larson Maslanka ’83
    Marga Matheny ’64
    Patricia L. Maykuth ’69
    Beverlee Simboli McFadden ’55
    Kathleen L. Metinko ’91
    Frances P. Minno
    Bee Jee Epstine Morrison ’56
    Eileen Mauclair Muse ’61
    Henry Posner III
    Kathy Zillweger Putnam ’71
    Sarah Irving Riling ’67
    Susan Criep Santa-Cruz ’60
    Jennifer M. Scanlon
    Sheen Sehgal ’89
    Dr. Beth A. Walter ’92
    Gaylen Westfall, Honorary Alumna
    Carol Spear Williams ’57

Please visit winchesterthurston.org/missmitchell for the complete list of Miss Mitchell Society Members.